Mavs News

Luka Doncic and the rest of the Dallas Mavericks schedules at EuroBasket 2022

Luka Doncic, Dallas Mavericks, Slovenian National Team
Luka Doncic, Dallas Mavericks, Slovenian National Team / Jurij Kodrun/GettyImages
facebooktwitterreddit

The Dallas Mavericks have been watching intently as superstar Luka Doncic takes on the world with the Slovenian National Team. The 23-year-old has helped his country win three of four World Cup qualifiers, but they were shockingly upset by Germany in their last game. Now, Doncic and Slovenia take on a tougher challenge.

EuroBasket is back for the first time since 2017, and the field to win the crown is wide open. Slovenia is the defending champions, and Doncic is the favorite to win MVP. Can they repeat as European champions? Serbia, Greece, France, and 20 other nations planning on having something to say about that.

EuroBasket kicks off with the group stage that features four pools for six teams. The top four advance to the knockout stage where the single elimination 16-team bracket will crown a European champion. Fans will get to see Luka and Mavericks two-way guard Tyler Dorsey play at least five times with nine possible games for the champion over 18 days. Here is a look at the upcoming schedule for the two Mavericks, plus another game MFFLs will not want to miss.

Luka Doncic and the rest of the Dallas Mavericks schedules at EuroBasket 2022

Fans can watch all the games of EuroBasket on ESPN-plus, so they will not have to miss a second of the action. Here is a look at when Luka plays in the event.

When does Slovenian National Team featuring Luka Doncic play at EuroBasket 2022?

Sept. 1 vs. Lithuania at 10:05 a.m. CT or 11:05 a.m. ET

Sept. 3 vs. Hungary at 1:20 p.m. CT or 2:20 p.m. ET

Sept. 4 vs. Bosnia-Herzegovina at 10:35 a.m. CT or 11:35 a.m. ET

Sept. 6 vs. Germany at 1:20 p.m. CT or 2:20 p.m. ET

Sept. 7 vs. France at 10:05 a.m. CT or 11:05 a.m. CT

Slovenia will play all of their group games in Germany, and they were drawn into the toughest pool of the tournament. France, Lithuania, and Germany all believe they can medal, and Bosnia-Herzegovina just upset France in World Cup qualifying. One of those teams will not advance to the knockout stage.

The round of 16 takes place on Sept. 10 and 11 with the quarterfinals happening on Sept. 13 and 14. Fans can watch the semifinals on Sept. 16 with the finals and third place contest on Sept. 18.

Slovenia expects to win the tournament, so there is a lot of basketball ahead for Luka Doncic and his country. They are one of the main reasons Mavericks fans should watch EuroBasket 2022.

Tyler Dorsey and Greece National Team schedule at EuroBasket 2022

Sept. 2 vs. Croatia at 9:50 a.m. CT or 10:50 a.m. ET

Sept. 3 vs. Italy at 1:50 p.m. CT or 2:50 p.m. ET

Sept. 5 vs. Great Britain at 9:50 a.m. CT or 10:50 a.m. ET

Sept. 6 vs. Ukraine at 9:50 a.m. CT or 10:50 a.m. ET

Sept. 8 vs. Estonia at 9:50 a.m. CT or 10:50 a.m. ET

It is a brutal schedule for Greece, who will be led by Giannis Antetokounmpo at EuroBasket. They have two back-to-backs to begin the tournament, but they are favored to win their group and among the favorites to win the entire event.

Dorsey will be a key scorer from the Greeks. He had 22 and 16 points in the recent World Cup qualifiers, and they need that type of scoring from the Mavericks' two-way wing as the opposition sells out to stop Giannis.

Dallas Mavericks fans cannot miss Dirk Nowitzki's German jersey retirement, which takes place on Sept. 1 to open the tournament. The Mavs GOAT is serving as an ambassador for the entire event, but the opener will be special as the legend gets honored. Germany faces France in the opener at 1:20 p.m. CT with the jersey retirement set to happen before the game. Do not miss it.

EuroBasket 2022 will feature plenty of drama, and the championship is up for grabs. Will Dallas Mavericks star Luka Doncic lead Slovenia to a second straight title or do fans see a fresh champion? Be sure to tune in to find out.

Next. 3 free agents the Mavs should still target. dark

facebooktwitterreddit