The Smoking Cuban
Mavs News

How to watch Luka Doncic and other Mavericks in the upcoming World Cup qualifiers

Dallas Mavericks, Luka Doncic, Slovenian National Team
Dallas Mavericks, Luka Doncic, Slovenian National Team / Jurij Kodrun/GettyImages
facebooktwitterreddit

The Dallas Mavericks are one month away from training camp, but they will be busy in the buildup. Superstar Luka Doncic and three others will be playing in the upcoming World Cup qualifiers as the rest of the team continues their preparations on their own.

Doncic has a busy month ahead. He will play two World Cup qualifiers this week before embarking to play in EuroBasket, which runs from Sept. 1 to 18. Slovenia enters as one of the favorites, and they are difficult to defeat with the Mavericks star leading their charge.

World Cup qualifying kicks off for the Mavericks on Aug. 25 with four players seeing action across the globe. Every game can be watched on Courtside 1981, which can be purchased here. Here is a look at the upcoming slates for Mavs playing for their countries.

World Cup qualifying schedule for Dallas Mavericks star Luka Doncic and Slovenia

Aug. 25 vs. Estonia at 1:30 p.m. CT or 2:30 p.m. ET

Aug. 28 vs. Germany at 8:00 a.m. CT or 9:00 a.m. ET

Estonia was 2-4 and barely squeaked into the second round of qualifying, so Slovenia will be a massive favorite in the first contest. Expect Doncic to come out firing and look to put the game out of reach early.

Germany was 5-1 in the first round of qualifying and will be led by NBA veteran Dennis Schroder. Expect a competitive game, but Slovenia will again be a significant favorite with number 77 leading the way.

Rest of the Dallas Mavericks World Cup qualifying schedules

Dwight Powell and Canadian National Team

Aug. 25 vs. Argentina at 9:40 p.m. CT or 10:40 p.m. ET

Aug. 29 vs. Panama at 7:10 p.m. CT or 8:10 p.m. ET

Canada will be favored in both contests as Powell expects to be the team’s starting center. Fans should plan on seeing a few dunks as the Canadians look to take one step closer to clinching a spot in next summer’s World Cup.

Davis Bertans and Latvian National Team

Aug. 25 vs. Turkey at 11:30 a.m. CT or 12:30 p.m. ET

Aug. 28 vs. Great Britain at 12:00 p.m. CT or 1:00 p.m. ET

Former Maverick Kristaps Porzingis is back playing for his country for the first time since EuroBasket 2017. Turkey presents a tough challenge for KP and Bertans. Furkan Korkmaz and Alperen Sengun gave Slovenia fits in a friendly before Goran Dragic took over in overtime. Turkey versus Latvia will be one of the cannot miss games of this window.

Tyler Dorsey and the Greek National Team

Aug. 25 vs. Serbia at 1:00 p.m. CT or 2:00 p.m. ET

Aug. 28 vs. Belgium at 12:00 p.m. CT or 1:00 p.m. ET

The Mavericks' two-way player will feature for Greece in the marquee game of qualifying as Giannis Antetokounmpo takes on Nikola Jokic in a battle of two-time NBA MVPs. Dorsey has made a significant impact for Greece in the friendly games leading up to the action, and fans should be sure to check out what he can do during this qualifying window.

Frank Ntilikina was slated to play for France, but he suffered an injury that will cause him to miss both World Cup qualifiers and EuroBasket.

The Dallas Mavericks have four players representing their countries in World Cup qualifying, and three are expected to continue to EuroBasket. Luka Doncic will make the headlines, but there will be plenty of exciting international action in the weeks ahead, so be sure to tune in and enjoy the show.

NEXT. Mavs 2022 free agency grades. dark

facebooktwitterreddit