Dallas Mavericks worst playoff performance ever

Dallas Mavericks, Dirk Nowitzki
Dallas Mavericks, Dirk Nowitzki / Brian Bahr/GettyImages

The Dallas Mavericks have had the highest of highs in the playoffs, yet they have also experienced their lowest of lows. Mavs fans were heartbroken during several playoff runs throughout the franchise's history, and the biggest and worst playoff performance came in 2007.

The previous season, Dallas suffered a devastating loss to the Miami Heat in the 2006 NBA finals, led by finals MVP Dwayne Wade. Feeling the pain and heartbreak of this loss, the Mavericks would start the 2006-2007 NBA season on the wrong foot with a record of 1-4.

However, they would not be deterred as they embarked on a 12-game winning streak. Dallas would eventually end the season with 67 wins, the NBA's best record, and the franchise's best regular season record.

Dallas Mavericks worst playoff performance ever

Dirk Nowitzki would win the 2007 MVP, his first and only time achieving the prestigious award in his illustrious career. He and Josh Howard would represent the Mavs in the 2007 NBA All-Star Game. Mavericks coach Avery Johnson won the NBA's Coach of the Year award.

The Mavs matched up with the eighth seed, 42-40 Golden State Warriors, led by former Dallas Mavericks coach Don Nelson, in the first round of the playoffs.

Although the Mavericks didn't win a single regular season game against the Warriors (0-3), they were heavy favorites. This first-round series would stand as one of the biggest upsets in NBA history.

The Mavericks lost convincingly in this series against the "We Believe" Warriors. Dallas fell in six games and became one of two teams in NBA history to fall to an eight-seed in the first round, joining the 1994 Seattle Supersonics.

More Articles About Mavericks Playoff History:


In addition to the salt in the wound, Dirk Nowitzki accepted his MVP trophy after the team's embarrassing playoff defeat. The NBA would change when the MVP received the award after 2007. Before Nowitzki, the NBA's Most Valuable Player award was always presented in the second round of the playoffs, but the NBA has sinced moved it up to the first round.

The 2006-2007 Mavericks team changed the course of NBA history, but not to their benefit.

Next. 12 worst free agent signings in Mavs history. dark