When was the last time Dallas Mavericks won the NBA Championship?

Dallas Mavericks, Dirk Nowitzki, Jason Kidd
Dallas Mavericks, Dirk Nowitzki, Jason Kidd / MARK RALSTON/GettyImages

The Dallas Mavericks are trying to build a title contender around superstar Luka Doncic. They are looking for their fourth straight playoff appearance and to take the next step after last year’s run to the conference finals. Dallas pulled off a blockbuster trade to add Kyrie Irving, and they believe their two stars can compete for a championship.

The Mavs have been here before. Dirk Nowitzki was a young 24-year-old superstar who went to the conference finals in 2003. Dallas was bounced in the first round of the playoffs the following year, and MFFLs know that there are no guarantees in the postseason. Dirk was an all-time great, but it took a ton of playoff failures before he finally triumphed.

The Mavericks have won one championship in their 43 NBA seasons, and fans will never forget that memorable run that included beating a historically great team in the NBA Finals. Here is a look back at the Mavs' lone championship.

When was the last time the Dallas Mavericks won the NBA Championship?

The Mavs reached the NBA Finals in 2006 where they blew a 2-0 series lead to the Miami Heat. It took Dirk Nowitzki five years to get back on the league’s biggest stage, and he was not going to let his team fail this time.

Dallas was tested along their 2011 run. They entered the playoffs as the third seed in the Western Conference before taking out Brandon Roy and the Blazers in the opening round. The series was tied 2-2 before Nowitzki took over and led Dallas to a matchup against the defending champion Lakers. The Mavericks swept LA, including a 34-point win in Game 4.

Dallas faced the young Thunder in the conference finals, but Kevin Durant, Russell Westbrook, and James Harden were no match for the Mavs. Dirk helped them win in five games to get back to the NBA Finals.

Waiting in the championship was the Big 3 Miami Heat. It was their first year together, but they entered the series as massive favorites. Nobody gave Dallas a chance to defeat LeBron James, Dwyane Wade, and Chris Bosh, especially after the Mavs fell down 2-1, but they won the final three games to be crowned champions.

More Articles About Mavericks NBA Championship History:


Dirk Nowitzki finally got his championship, and it was a special title. He was the lone star on the team that featured a ton of veterans. Dirk stayed in Dallas his entire career, and this title was his signature moment. It was a special group that finally got Dallas over the hump.

Owner Mark Cuban broke up the team after the 2011 lockout, and Dirk Nowitzki did not win another playoff series in his legendary career.

The Dallas Mavericks are hoping Luka Doncic can lead them to title number two in the near future. It will likely take at least one more transaction cycle for the Mavs to jump back into title contention, but never count out number 77, and stay tuned to see what he can do next.

Next. 12 worst free agent signings in Mavs history. dark