NBA Roundtable: Who Will Be the 6th Man of the Year?

By Kohl Rast
OAKLAND, CA - JUNE 12: Andre Iguodala
OAKLAND, CA - JUNE 12: Andre Iguodala /
1 of 3

The NBA 6th Man of the Year award is one that seems to be up for grabs by just about anyone every year, as evidenced by the staff picks. Who will take home the hardware this year?

When it comes to the NBA’s 6th Man of the Year award, it never ceases to amaze me who finds themselves in the running. Despite the early popular picks that happen at the beginning of every year, there is always someone who climbs his way up the ladder even though he wasn’t even considered a contender at the start of the season.

Let’s take a look at some of the previous winners: Eric Gordon (2017), Jamal Crawford (2016, 2014, 2010), Lou Williams (2015), J.R. Smith (2013), James Harden (2012), Lamar Odom (2011), and Jason Terry (2009). All of these winners were obviously on the radar by the end of the season, but not all of them were considered favorites in that year by any means.

This award is a nice one because the Dallas Mavericks have such a great history with it. Aside  from Jason Terry winning the award after the 2008-09 season, the Mavs also have two other winners in history. In the 2003-04 season, Antawn Jamison won the award for the Dallas Mavericks. Going back even before that, Roy Tarpley took the award after his performance in the 1987-88 NBA season.

Because the team has multiple winners and a solid bench this year, it is no surprise that some of the staff picked a Maverick to take home the hardware once again. Along with some Mavericks, there will be names you recognize for this list. And maybe even a surprise pick.

Let’s take a look at who all the staff picked for this award.